Hebrews 12 and Endurance

Today I was watching “The Biggest Loser”, which is a show I watch every week where people train arduously to lose weight in a short period of time.  I have my own struggles with weight loss and am part of a gym right now.  My trainer just told me to do exercises at home and spend 45 minutes on the bike and she said it would build up endurance.  So I guess my word for the day is “endurance”.

I have completed a Bible Study at the church on Hebrews and it didn’t really sink in until I was reading Hebrews 12 today and the Word just sort of leaped out at me.  This is what I read –

Hebrews 12

1THEREFORE THEN, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses [who have borne testimony to the Truth], let us strip off and throw aside every encumbrance (unnecessary weight) and that sin which so readily (deftly and cleverly) clings to and entangles us, and let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us,

    2Looking away [from all that will distract] to Jesus, Who is the Leader and the Source of our faith [giving the first incentive for our belief] and is also its Finisher [bringing it to maturity and perfection]. He, for the joy [of obtaining the prize] that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising and ignoring the shame, and is now seated at the right hand of the throne of God.(A)

    3Just think of Him Who endured from sinners such grievous opposition and bitter hostility against Himself [reckon up and consider it all in comparison with your trials], so that you may not grow weary or exhausted, losing heart and relaxing and fainting in your minds.


I think the first thing that struck me was “patient endurance and steady and active persistence”.  That is what it takes to train for something and to exercise and to lose weight and so many other things which require endurance and persistence.  Ideally we would like to be this way in all areas, and God has given us the ability to do so, but He knows that we cannot handle doing more than a few things at a time so He gives us what we can handle.  Navy Seals train with patient endurance and steady and active persistence, but they go to the extreme.  People on “The Biggest Loser” [and so do/should other people who like to lose weight] train with patient endurance and steady and active persistence.  Any athlete has to go through training and any competitor has to go through training.

Another thing that struck me was – Looking away from all that will distract to Jesus – Wow, I really had to repent for that one.  Isn’t watching The Biggest Loser a distraction?  Also yesterday, I was so focused on the news that I forgot to make my turkey, I forgot to put my laundry in the dryer until late.  Even with our goal we have to seek Jesus first.  My dad who is not a believer said, if you take away one hour away from God to focus on exercise, I think God will understand.  I know that God will understand, but what am I making more time in my life for is it 1)Sleep 2)TV/Entertainment 3)Diet/Nutrition/Exercise 4)God/Bible/Worship/Devotion/Prayer?  It is also important to have godly wisdom, and godly counsel because you could have your personal trainer telling you your health is your main thing, and your flesh telling you that Sleep and TV are the most important things, but the last thing you want to do in the day is to spend time in God’s presence when it will actually give you the most benefit.  It can all be confusing so it is very important to listen to God and to hear what He says, and the best way to do that is to meditate on His word, and like a member of our church once preached, “Don’t become constipated with it.” You have to share what you have learned.  The best way is to teach somebody.

The third thing that struck me was how Jesus bore bitter hostility and was brutally treated and agonized for sin so much so that he poured out blood for us [v.4]  and we are to reckon up and consider it all in comparison with our trials], so that we may not grow weary or exhausted, losing heart and relaxing and fainting in our minds.  

Sometimes when I am exercising, especially when I am exercising, I grow weary, or exhausted, losing heart and feeling like fainting some times, so I just call upon God to give me the strength.  Sometimes I even feel like throwing up when I am on the bike, and it’s been only an hour after eating, and I just don’t want to do it.  I feel like, I am so tired, I am so exhausted, and then when I weigh myself I lose heart and just feel like quitting.  And if I do decide to quit, guess what – comes the next part later in the chapter, the chastening where I have ankle pain, plantar fasciitis, difficulty walking, all because I chose to give up or not tarry a little longer in my endurance and training to the point where I have to endure through the hard times.

God has a destiny for all of us – to make us to continue to push through and to brave all circumstances, and to carry out whatever mission that God has in store for us.  The problem is that, many of us, including myself, have become complacent as a whole.  The Church has become complacent.  The whole purpose of shows like “The Biggest Loser” is not just for people to lose weight or to get money, it is to show that when we get out of our comfort zone, which I also saw in “The Voice” today, things start to happen.  Commitment, Discipline, Endurance, Patience, and Love are all good qualities to have, but it doesn’t mean anything if you don’t have the love of the Lord in your life.

I am probably going to write more about Hebrews 12 because I was really touched by this, but if I do I will probably be up another 4 hours so I’ll probably stop at 1066 words right now.

[Verses taken from Amplified]- I’ll probably have to stop using that one once I reach 500.

One thought on “Hebrews 12 and Endurance

Leave a Reply

