Hebrews 12 and Discipline/Endurance

Today I am going to talk about one verse, which I wish had come to remembrance today when I was trying to do my endurance cardio workout.  I got on the bike frustrated that I had to do 45 minutes on the bike like my trainer had told me to do at home.  Since my regular 700 Club, didn’t record, I didn’t have a valid distraction.  I thought I had been going for a while, and then I looked at the clock on the bike, and it said 3:50 meaning that I had [only] gone 3 minutes and 50 seconds so then I started to get really emotional and crying because my head hurt, my back hurt and my leg hurt before I had even gone on the bike and I didn’t know how I was going to endure the remaining time and I wanted to give up, but my trainer told me this is what she wanted me to do and it would benefit me the most.  I wanted to do the easy 30 minute high intensity interval training, but this is not what I was supposed to do.  So then my sister talked me through this time and I had forgotten everything I had written about in the previous post about endurance from Hebrews 12:1-3 – you can go back to that.  It’s one thing to have knowledge of God’s Word, but to go and actually apply it in your life is a whole other ball game.  So after I was done without my workout I went back to look at Hebrews 12, and I found this –

11For the time being no discipline brings joy, but seems grievous and painful; but afterwards it yields a peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it [a harvest of fruit which consists in righteousness–in conformity to God’s will in purpose, thought, and action, resulting in right living and right standing with God]. (Amplified)

There were two things that my sister talked about and she never reads the Bible, that discipline (in regards to a grueling endurance cardio workout) is all about enduring through the tough things and motivating yourself to go on and pushing on despite all the pain.  Sure there are times when you feel like dying, but then you make yourself go through it and in the long run it will bring you to a place where you can be mentally strong and not just physically strong -[and even though she didn’t say this – it also makes you spiritually strong.]

What I now realize and hope I can remember the next time I have to workout, is that it will have a peaceable fruit, after having going through grueling and painful discipline.  I’m not sure if in this context the writer of Hebrews was talking about chastisement of the Lord, which is kind of like a spanking, but the same principle can be applied to the discipline it takes to go through any kind of training.  So my sister and I talked about “The Biggest Loser” again and now I recall that it is the type of discipline for training that you have to go through when you want to reach a goal.  The Navy Seals have to go through an intense version of this not to mention the whole military.

For myself I want to reach a goal of a healthy weight and a slim physique, but I also want also to mentally ready to be able to fight the enemy in any situation.  Often we let ourselves fall victim, and that is what I did today.  My mom called me a baby because I was crying, but actually it is true, when you take on that victim mentality it means that you are not more than a conqueror and that you believe that you are not strong enough to do what you need to do as much as you don’t like to do it.  In fact the more you don’t want to do something is probably the reason why it is the more you should do it.  I’m preaching to myself here.

The greatest test of faith is when you have to endure through discipline and training when you are by yourself.  When you are by yourself you will have no one to depend on except for yourself and the Holy Spirit.  There is something to be said for the people that are non-believers that can rely on the strength of will to get through difficult training and disciplining without realizing God is there and helping.  If you can depend on God when there’s absolutely nothing else and no one else to depend on that it will make you that much stronger and it will build your character so you can be a blessing to others during difficult times.  Just look at Jesus – He actually died on the cross and He had no one standing up for Him – Some of us think we are going to actually die at the thought of doing exercise and giving up chocolate, pizza, and soda – not that I eat that – but it is actually makes you stronger.  They say that “Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”  So exercise for most people won’t kill them, but having a victim mentality will.  The Bible says that “whoever endures until the end will be saved” (don’t know which verse).

For most if not all of my life I have been surrounded by people, and when I was not I became very depressed.  But I found that even in times when you are surrounded with a lot of people you can still feel alone unless you realize that the Lord is with you and has not forsaken you – (also from Hebrews) 13:5. So now I am constantly surrounded with at least one person and I have learned to cherish that time alone, but for some reason that principle didn’t apply to me when I was working out today.

I guess the Word that God has for me to share is that whenever you feel like you are about die because you cannot go through something and that you don’t have the strength to make it and you feel like you are in hell, just remember that it will be worth it because painful and grievous discipline brings about peaceable fruits.  Just like having a baby, I guess!!

Leave a Reply

