Parable that “Blog-evangelism” feels like

In Mark 4:26-32, Jesus says a remarkable Parable that really spoke to me today.

And He said, “The kingdom of God is as if a man should scatter seed on the ground, and should sleep by night and rise by day, and the seed should sprout and grow, he himself does not know how.  For the earth yields crops by itself: first the blade, then the head, after that the full grain in the head.  But when the grain ripens, immediately he puts in the sickle, because the harvest has come.”

There’s something unique about blogging and the internet that appeals to me in way of relation to this Scripture.  We put our blog posts up and we don’t know how and somehow we get hits and people look at our blogs, and we don’t really know how many lives we’ve touched and how many people we have affected.  Our site stats may have a certain number of views, but we don’t know how many people’s lives have been changed by our blogs.  God reaches out through us as vessels through a dark and pained world to give out this light some of which have never known.  When we first started out we may not have that many people reading, but as time goes on we have more people reading, and whatever seed that we spread “the earth crops by itself”.  In essence we don’t really have to do anything.  We don’t have to do any forceful coaxing, or push anything down anyone’s throats.  It “crops by itself”.  Then the beautiful thing is that when the time is right we have people come running to us asking us how can they be saved. (That hasn’t happened to me yet, but I am hoping one day.)

Jesus continues – “It is like a mustard seed which, when it is sown on the ground, is smaller than all the seeds on earth; But when it is sown, it grows up and becomes greater than all the herbs, and shoots out large branches, so that the birds of the air may nest under its shade.”

We bloggers are similar to the mustard seeds, most of us are people that don’t have a famous worldwide ministry, we don’t travel from country to country all over the world for the rest of our lives, and most of us are not like Mother Theresa giving food to the poor, but we in essence don’t seemed to get noticed much [except for maybe The Most Versatile Blogger Award ;)], but if we keep it long enough, and technology willing, the Word says that seeds like us, grow up, and become “greater than all the herbs, and shoot out large branches, so that the birds of the air may nest under [our shade]”.

There is something to be said for having humble beginnings.  For not striving to be well known, but just to have a way to reach out to the world, when you wonder, “Is God really using me to change anyone’s life?  or  is this all in vain?”  But we mustard seeds should keep on writing, and tagging, because we don’t know how many people’s lives we have affected, we don’t know how many smiles we have put on people’s faces, how many people have been encouraged because of what we write.  I don’t know if anyone else feels this way.  But when I created this blog I could have used a different name, but I was coming from a place of loss, but I knew I was going to glorify Jesus.  I was going to use this blog for my personal stuff, but the more I grew in the Lord, I realized that He had a different purpose for me.  I also realized how effective this venue for blogging was and I realized that this was a way I could have a chance to change people’s lives.  I am not a well known person, and in essence somewhat like a mustard seed, but I am hoping that God will expand the usage of me to where I can be a vessel that is “greater than all the herbs” and that He will shoot out large branches through me, so that the “birds of the air” may rest under whatever shade that God leads me to put forth.

I am not blogging for me, I am blogging for the Lord, and to sow seeds into the kingdom of God.  I don’t know how many people’s lives I have truly touched, and I have my own dreams and aspirations, but I am hoping that somehow someway lost souls can be affected by what I am doing.

 

 

One thought on “Parable that “Blog-evangelism” feels like

Leave a Reply

