The Body of Christ

I’ve been drawn to these Scriptures over and over again as I continue to meditate on them.

2 Corinthians 12:14-27

14 For in fact the body is not one member but many. 
15 If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? 16 And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? 17 If the whole body were an eye, where would be the hearing? If the whole werehearing, where would be the smelling? 18 But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased. 19 And if they were all one member, where would the body be?
20 But now indeed there are many members, yet one body. 21 And the eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you”; nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.” 22 No, much rather, those members of the body which seem to be weaker are necessary. 23 And those members of the body which we think to be less honorable, on these we bestow greater honor; and our unpresentableparts have greater modesty, 24 but our presentable parts have no need. But God composed the body, having given greater honor to that part which lacks it, 25 that there should be no schism in the body, but that the members should have the same care for one another. 26 And if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it; or if one member is honored, all the members rejoice with it.
27 Now you are the body of Christ, and members individually.

In one of my earlier posts I talked about the church acting like a disabled body.  But now I have come to realize that in essence, Christ prunes off the things that are not suited for His body.  The thing that really moves me about this passage is that there is an interconnectedness with all the members of the Church or the Body of Christ.  One part cannot say to the other I have no need of you as the WORD says, and that we whether we like it or not are all part of each other.  There is another part of Scripture that comes into play here and that is the fact when Jesus says that some of the people who claim to be part of the Church will say, “we prophesied in your name, and some of us cast out demons in your name,” and He will say, “I never knew you.”  That has always been a hard pill to swallow, and I am going to post a video sermon on here that goes a little bit more into that than I am going to, but the key for the Church not to be a disabled body is to have Christ as the head and to have an intimate relationship with the LORD.  Some of us with our modern technologies and gadgets, like I heard someone once say, we don’t really have the level of intimacy that they had in previous generations when there was no technology.  Granted that it has been a tool, but it takes away time to spend cultivating the intimate relationship with Christ.  I am preaching to myself here.  Our time gets eaten up by consuming ourselves with the demands of daily life, but we don’t really get into the depths and the deeper level of walk that we are supposed to.  Within the Body of Christ because we have not all developed that deeper level of intimacy, we are spending time debating with each other on “how to” do this, or “the way” we are supposed to do that, when in essence there is no written formula.   The Spirit moves as He wills.

When one of us is hurting we are all hurting.  That’s the essence of what Paul says at the end of the passage I quoted.  Imagine the human body.  If you had a pain in your body, let’s say your foot, would you be able to walk correctly?  Would you be able to carry out the work you were supposed to do if you had that pain?  Wouldn’t you try to do whatever you could to get rid of that pain so that you could carry out whatever you are supposed to do?  That’s the same way the Body of Christ is.  When one of us is hurting we are supposed to care for each other and build up and edify the church and one another, not only so that we can be a blessing to one another as the Church, but so we can be a light in the darkness surrounding us.

The Scripture says that the Lord prunes those He loves, and that He disciplines, and chastens them.  Jesus also said if “your eye cause you to sin then pluck it out because it would be better to go in ‘without an eye’ then to have the body be cast into outer darkness because of that sin”  (emphasis mine).  There’s another level of examination of Scriptures that can take place here when it comes to the Body of Christ.  We are supposed to make sure that the Body of Christ does not lead itself into sin.  We are supposed to be careful that we do not let ourselves give into temptation.  So when we are rebuked by members of the Church, or when we do experience conviction, or if we are going through a hard time it is all for the good because Christ wants a blameless spotless bride, before He comes to receive her.  The Blood of Jesus washes away our sin, but since this is a process and that we will not stop sinning over night [but we will eventually get to the point that it is impossible to sin], and that this is a pruning process then we can be sure that the Potter is shaping His creation out of the clay and when the bride has made herself ready, then the groom will receive her.

I once had a vision of the bride of Christ.  One characteristic I found about her hair was that had strands of hair color of each kind of natural hair color that was young in appearance.  There was one piece blonde, one piece brunette, one piece brown, one piece black and the rest were all the colors in between.  The Body of Christ is one with diversity and each member has its own function.  We all depend on each other and have need of each other.  We also have need of Christ and we cannot do without Christ.

I have personally been struggling myself with the love walk, which is what the next verses in 1 Corinthians 13 are about.  I want to get passed head knowledge, and have that heart experience and constant renewing and filling of the Holy Spirit in my life so when I feel this way, and especially when there is no one else around I am persuaded to dig my own well and find my own way out instead of depending on the internet, other preachers, members from the collective Church, and anything else that would deter me from seeking out the LORD for myself and developing the true intimate relationship with Him.  Sometimes I wonder if you don’t “feel” something does that mean you don’t love (agape), or is it more of an attitude.  I think it is a little bit of both, that there is no limit to the LORD and you cannot put Him in a box and have come to the realization that nothing can contain Him.

I have also come to the realization that I for one cannot compare myself with other people, and that I shouldn’t try to please other people.  If someone does not like my blog post that’s fine because I am not there to please them, but to please God and to do His work by sharing the Truth about Him.  These two things tie in with the passage from Corinthians that I quoted.  A hand cannot compare itself with a foot, and a hand is not there to please the foot, but we are all there to do what the brain, or head, tells us to do.  We are all essential.  We spend so much time looking at other people’s anointing, or trying to live under other people’s control that it’s hard to realize the gifts that God has put inside of us.

This aspect is particularly hard for me to do because sometimes it feels like I have put myself in a box because I have not allowed myself to do all the things that God wants me to do because of fear of getting out of the comfort zone and having to totally be dependent upon Him.  There is a fear of stepping out unto the unknown.  How a would your body feel with someone else’s head on it.  It just wouldn’t fit right, and it wouldn’t look right and it just wouldn’t act right either.  [I am not talking about the context of the husband being the head of the wife in this context, and that’s a whole another issue, which I personally have no experience to make any other statement than what the Word says and what I believe about it.]  So sometimes we let other people take control of our lives so much so that when it comes to be out on our own we don’t know what to do or how to react or what choices to make.

The theme at our church for the past few weeks has been being a unique person in the diversity of the body of Christ.  So we learned about not comparing ourselves to others, we learned about how God makes us unique, and the many aspects of this theme.  So that begs the question do I really know who I am in Christ?  Do we as unique individuals know who we are in Christ?  Have we learned the most important commandment – to love God with all of our heart, to love our neighbor as we love ourselves?  If the body of Christ can come to the submission of the Head and come under the authority of the Head, then we would be unstoppable.  That’s exactly what satan is scared of so he is trying to do everything in his power to disarm and to make weak and make disabled the body of Christ, so he can become the head.  But to know and realize the Truth that Christ has set us free and to know how much He loves and who we really are can set us to be more than conquerors.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

