An Advocate with the Father and Jesus our friend

This week a comforting thought came to me about the nature of Jesus, and the prospect of the Holy Spirit.  We know that God is righteous and holy and He cannot tolerate sin, but through His mercy He sent Jesus to die for us so that we can come near Him.  I’ve also been meditating on the relationship we have with Jesus.  I have heard that there is going to be a judgment for believers where everyone is going to be judged according to their works.   Now believers I suppose would not be sent into hell because the requirement for salvation is believing in Jesus and accepting Him into your life, but you have to endure to the end to be saved that means that you cannot give up and stop believing in Him, in which case you might lose your salvation, but since I am not to clear on what is the correct doctrine on that one I won’t go too much into that.

I had been fearing the judgment for believers for a while, but some Scriptures keep coming back to me and one of them really spoke to me.  Romans 8:15 – “15 For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” This one of the Scriptures I looked at, but the next one Jesus started to show me something to my heart when remembering this Scripture.  1 John 2:1 – “My little children, these things I write to you, so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous.”

In Revelation it talks about the books that will be pulled out, and there will come a time when you are alone with God and you will have to give an account of what you did. 1 John 2:1 really put into perspective.  I pictured Jesus and me sitting a room with a television screen [I am guessing that there is greater technology in heaven, but it is the only one I could relate with] looking back at my life, and having a discussion, a very honest discussion where I let Him know what was on my heart and based on my relationship what I had learned from the experience.  I know that this conversation was not for His benefit, but for my benefit so that I could be sure in my heart that He would plead the case with the Father.  Now I know in some cases that word, “Advocate”, means that Jesus is seated at the right hand of the Father interceding for us at the present moment, but when I catch up with the way that eternity that is in motion, then I will have peace in my heart to know that Jesus is pleading my case.

The word Advocate here is also used as Comforter in other verses to refer to the Holy Spirit.  What a blessing we have right now to have this privilege right now to get to that place where we can sit and honestly talk to God about what’s going on.  It is a blessing to have that privilege to have fellowship with Him now before we get to Heaven.  The problem is that because this is not always tangible, we have difficulty figuring out how exactly to do it and how exactly to have this kind of relationship with God-  to “be still and know”.  We have difficulty forming that kind of relationship where we are drawn to Him and we can actually hear His still small voice, beating within the depths of our hearts. There’s no written formula or “magic” formula that can take you there after all He created you and He knows how your going to react to the situation.  There’s no point in putting a square peg into a round hole so God’s got that square hole just for you, or maybe you’re the round peg trying to fit into the square hole, He’ll put that round hole just for you.  The beautiful thing about Jesus once He comes to  live inside your heart is that you can talk to Him.  You can put your trust in Him and rely on Him to get you through everything.

 

Song of Solomon says frequently, “do not awaken love until it pleases”.  I believe here they are taking about not trying to force this love but let it come naturally.  Love with God should not be a struggle, when you’re trying to get out of a cage that you’re in, but keep bumping into walls.  But it is like a stream that flows to feed the plants and all the plants have to do is to receive it.  The plants don’t have any control on when the river is coming and when it is going to feed them, but they just wait patiently for the river to feed them and then the flowers grow and the trees produce fruit.

Getting back to my point, it’s good to know that we can communicate honestly with Jesus after all He does know our hearts.  He is the only one that we can convey our sins to and He is faithful to hear.  We don’t have to be afraid of judgment, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t listen to when God tells us not to do something.  We shouldn’t start being rebellious toward God, but God knows that we all have weak areas and that God uses the weak things to confound the wise.  Also there is something I want to point out, we all have different levels of maturity in Christ and different areas that we are mature in.  Some people through life experiences have learned how to develop this kind of relationship with God to where it comes naturally, and some people are just learning and beginning to grow, but God works with us all.  He understands us and He knows us.  He knows our very weaknesses and our faults.  He is there when we need us and for us to have peace in our hearts all we have to know is that He loves us and that His grace has redeemed us.  So if you’re trying to get closer in your walk with God and to develop the Fruit of the Spirit, realize that it takes time.  God cultivates this fruit in us through the Holy Spirit, but learning to relax and just lean on God and depend on Him.  I bet Jesus is in Heaven thinking, “Take a Chill Pill!!”, when it comes to all the stuff we worry about.  He was always telling the disciples not to fear and He preached about not worrying or fretting about anything.  Relaxation and faith go hand in hand.  The more you have faith in Jesus the more you are able to relax.  The more you relax the more you can allow the love of God to operate in you.  The more you allow love to operate in you, the more you can be a blessing to others.  The more you are a blessing to others, the better your conversation with Jesus is going to be in heaven.  Instead of saying “I never knew you”, He will be saying, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

 

Leave a Reply

