Being provoked to number the people

In 1 Chronicles 21 it says,

1 Now Satan stood up against Israel, and moved David to number Israel. 2 So David said to Joab and to the leaders of the people, “Go, number Israel from Beersheba to Dan, and bring the number of them to me that I may know it.
3 And Joab answered, “May the LORD make His people a hundred times more than they are. But, my lord the king, are they not all my lord’s servants? Why then does my lord require this thing? Why should he be a cause of guilt in Israel?”
4 Nevertheless the king’s word prevailed against Joab. Therefore Joab departed and went throughout all Israel and came to Jerusalem. 5 Then Joab gave the sum of the number of the people to David. All Israel had one million one hundred thousand men who drew the sword, and Judah had four hundred and seventy thousand men who drew the sword. 6 But he did not count Levi and Benjamin among them, for the king’s word was abominable to Joab.
7 And God was displeased with this thing; therefore He struck Israel. 8 So David said to God, “I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing; but now, I pray, take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.”

I went through the same exact temptation at the beginning of the year when WordPress came out with it’s summary of statistics of what the blog was doing in the year 2011.  It was good to look at for your information, but when you begin to have pride, that this is what I have done, then there is a very humbling experience.  I went as far as taking the “Where are you from” section and calculating based on site views who visited from where and looking to see what were the most popular blog entries.  I guess I am not alone in looking at this presentation link, and my statement is not to condemn anyone, but I started to feel really bad after I realize what I had done.  I had gotten to the point where I was wrestling with God, that is this really a sin, do I still need to confess it? After all, God gave me this blog, and I have chosen to use it for Him, then the glory goes to Him.    There is one thing to confess it before God, but after looking at the video Are You too strong for God, I realized that this was something I needed to confess publicly.  There is something to be said for being transparent, where you don’t go hiding in corners and hoping that nobody sees what you do behind closed doors.  You may be embarrassed, and people may ridicule and persecute you, but it is something that needs to be done. It is called laying it all on the altar.  So that people know the real you and not some shadow or mask that you are hiding behind as far as the sin in your life.  It also takes listening to God to and knowing what is the right thing to do.  I may think that the numbering the people didn’t hurt anybody, but if I want to walk in complete health then I have to take this verse into consideration,

12 “When you take the census of the children of Israel for their number, then every man shall give a ransom for himself to the LORD, when you number them, that there may be no plague among them when you number them. Exodus 30:12

Thank God for Psalm 91, and verses like “a thousand shall fall at your side, and ten thousand by your right hand, but it shall not come near you.”

Leave a Reply

