Jesus’ heart toward the lame and cripple

This is a post about the heart of Jesus toward the lame and cripple, but at the same time it represents the Father’s heart because they are one and the same.

One of the heart’s desire for someone who is lame, or someone who cannot walk properly, is for them to be able to do the same things that everyone else can.  In this Bible Scripture we see the heart of Jesus shown through the story of Mephibosheth, what the heart of Jesus is toward the lame and cripple.

2 Samuel 9

9 David asked, “Is there anyone still left of the house of Saul to whom I can show kindness for Jonathan’s sake?”

Now there was a servant of Saul’s household named Ziba. They summoned him to appear before David, and the king said to him, “Are you Ziba?”

“At your service,” he replied.

The king asked, “Is there no one still alive from the house of Saul to whom I can show God’s kindness?”

Ziba answered the king, “There is still a son of Jonathan; he is lame in both feet.”

“Where is he?” the king asked.

Ziba answered, “He is at the house of Makir son of Ammiel in Lo Debar.”

So King David had him brought from Lo Debar, from the house of Makir son of Ammiel.

When Mephibosheth son of Jonathan, the son of Saul, came to David, he bowed down to pay him honor.

David said, “Mephibosheth!”

“At your service,” he replied.

“Don’t be afraid,” David said to him, “for I will surely show you kindness for the sake of your father Jonathan. I will restore to you all the land that belonged to your grandfather Saul, and you will always eat at my table. ”

Mephibosheth bowed down and said, “What is your servant, that you should notice a dead dog like me?”

Then the king summoned Ziba, Saul’s steward, and said to him, “I have given your master’s grandson everything that belonged to Saul and his family. 10 You and your sons and your servants are to farm the land for him and bring in the crops, so that your master’s grandson may be provided for. And Mephibosheth, grandson of your master, will always eat at my table.” (Now Ziba had fifteen sons and twenty servants.)

11 Then Ziba said to the king, “Your servant will do whatever my lord the king commands his servant to do.” So Mephibosheth ate at David’s[a] table like one of the king’s sons.

12 Mephibosheth had a young son named Mika, and all the members of Ziba’s household were servants of Mephibosheth. 13 And Mephibosheth lived in Jerusalem, because he always ate at the king’s table; he was lame in both feet.

When a person can’t walk, they may be discouraged because they are not like other people.  They may feel different, and according to the Law, these people were considered outcasts.  Some people because of the hard issues they’ve been through in life think, “Who am I that this king or noble person would take notice of me?  I can’t walk.”  In America, they may be taking in Social Security or taking in disability payments, they can’t find a job, and even if they can they probably can’t go and work there because of their disability.  They feel rejected and like outcasts, but Jesus had such a heart for these people.  In fact in the New Testament He healed them, and those promises are still available today.  These people might wonder what in their life caused them to be like this, or why were they handed this lot in life, and not some other.

Even if Christians are not lame, they may experience spiritual inadequacy at some point and think, that “Who am I that You are mindful of me?  They may feel unworthy.”

This is what Mephibosheth was going through, he was rejected and felt that nobody should pay particular attention to him because he was nobody in particular.

He was probably getting whatever he could off the streets of Lo Debar, and living like a homeless person and he was a descendant of the king.  He didn’t know or didn’t have access to whatever he was entitled to by birth.  So David, a man after God’s own heart, came and restored him, and made him eat at the king’s table.  He made eat the feast with the king.  Imagine your a homeless person and then you’re eating the king’s delight.  This is what happened with Mephibosheth.  It was a transformation and restoration of worth and value.    Many disabled people think that they can’t do things with honor and excellency, (except for maybe people like Nick Vujicic, which they should strive to be like)  so they cast themselves into a lower position, when really they are of great value in the eyes of God, and in the eyes of Jesus.  They are worth being treated like kings in God’s eyes.  God has a heart for the lame and cripple people.

If you see someone with a cane or walker or wheelchair, what is your first impression?  If you see someone struggling to walk and they can’t seem to make it walking along, what is your response?  What about that neighbor you know has an issue with walking do you make efforts to make them feel welcome and loved.

Many Churches carry out their daily activities of worship, sermons, and move in the spirit of God, but do they take on the heart of Jesus.  We all need to repent for this.  We need to repent as a nation to not helping those that are needy.  God’s heart is with the needy, and not the ones that have no needs.

If it seems like I am reemphasizing this point yet again in another post, there is the reason.

I know when I had to learn how to walk again, God put some mighty people in my path who were able to help me, even when my faith seemed to fail me.  God wants to heal the brokenhearted, He wants to show kindness to the lame and even with power heal them.  What about you?

Heavenly Father,

Thank You for Your kind and compassionate heart for the lost, lame and brokenhearted people.  Thank You for blessing the poor in spirit.  Thank You for reaching out to the outcasts, and thank you for helping those in need.  You are rich beyond mercy, thank You for your kindness to lost people.  Help us to be more like You so that we may serve You in the fullest capacity.  We repent for not helping out the lame, needy, struggling, disabled, and people that are weak.  Thank You for being merciful with us.

In Jesus Mighty Name I pray,

Amen.

I’d like to post song lyrics by Israel Houghton here:

Israel Houghton
I Am A Friend Of God lyrics

VERSE:
Who am I that you are mindful of me
That you hear me, when I call
Is it true that you are thinking of me
How you love me, it’s amazing (Who am I Lord)
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/i/israel_houghton/i_am_a_friend_of_god.html ]
CHORUS:
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
He calls me friend

Verse

BRIDGE:
God Almighty
Lord of Glory
You have called me friend

 

Leave a Reply

