Going over hurdles

This Christian walk is a race like Paul says: 1 Corinthians 9:4 –

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.

Hebrews 12:1-

[ The Race of Faith ] Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.

We all know that Olympics are going on just about now.  Sometimes during the Olympics they run hurdles, as they do at other track events.
I wasn’t very good at hurdles, but they can definitely be a part of life that we need to overcome.  We as Christians are supposed to be overcomers.

I don’t know how many of you have actually ran with hurdles, but it takes the strategic balance of running fast and the coordination of lifting up your knees over the hurdles.  After you have passed the challenge of running a regular 25 yard or 50 yard dash, then the next thing that they might put you on is hurdles.
James 1 says:

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

12 Blessed is the man who endures temptation; for when he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love Him. 13 Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am tempted by God”; for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does He Himself tempt anyone. 14 But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed. 15 Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death.

We are running the marathon race of life in which there are many hurdles.   Many people running a marathon get weak during the final stretch, and precious saints we are in the final stretch before the Lord Jesus comes to judge the righteous and bestow punishment upon the wicked who revel in their sin.   Those that hold on to their faith despite whatever challenges come their way, will receive the crown of life.  What a blessed reward to receive from the Lord, and that we all cast down at His feet when our race is through.  Sometimes hurdles are just hurdles, and sometimes hurdles are much more than hurdles and may actually feel like a wall that you have to crawl over.  But Praise Jesus He has the dunamis which is where we get the word “dynamite” power to go break down that wall that is keeping you from pursuing Him, and going after Him.

At this time I want to encourage those that don’t know the Lord, that may be involved in sins such as adultery, fornication, witchcraft, idolatry, or anything else that you know in your heart of hearts is not right, but you do not want to give it up because it has overaken you, God is a just and merciful God who is slow to anger, and quick to forgive for those who come to Him and turn to Him, but you must take this take this seriously, and not just hit the “like” button on the post.

Heavenly Father,

I know I am a sinner, I know how flawed and imperfect I am and that I fall short of Your perfection and holiness because I know You are the light of this world, and if I cannot stand to be in the presence of the sun, then how can I stand to be in the Presence of You who are brighter then the sun?  I thank You for Your Precious Son Jesus Christ, who died on the cross for my sins and washed me with His precious blood and cleansed me with His righteousness and He His holiness and His grace which overlooks all my sin and gives me a brand new start.  I ask You to do the life changing work in my life and give me a brand new start and I choose to leave behind all forms of wickedness behind and choose to take up Your life and Your Cross in my life.

In Jesus Mighty Name I pray,

Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment